Tuesday, May 07, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: Hello - newbie here

Hello - newbie here 5 years 10 months ago #1

• Sean
  • Fresh Breeze
Hey guys newbie here. We spend most of our summer free time on Clinton Lake, wakeboarding/tubing/skiing and have been interested for sometime to learn how to Windsurf, which would be great to give me and kids a longer season of water sports; seems like windsurfing weather is great when wakeboarding conditions are not. Don't have any gear yet, going to look at a couple used boards later today. I think both are long boards one is a mistral LCS, and other is Hifly...

Hello - newbie here 5 years 10 months ago #2

Welcome, Sean! We can help you at the lake and online here for any questions.

Here's some helpful newbie info links.

Beginner Board Guide

"First piece of advice – don’t just buy that £100 board you see on eBay as it’s likely to be the windsurfing equivalent of a wooden tennis racquet! Have lessons first, hire for a while and then you’ll have a better concept of board sizes, names and what you want from the sport. When you’re ready to buy, select a board that offers long-term potential for your needs and aspirations, but isn’t too challenging to sail. In basic terms, boards are of similar length, but they vary more in width and volume. Wider, higher volume boards (140-200L) are more stable and easier to sail and suit beginners, improver-intermediates, lighter winds and inland waters."