Saturday, May 04, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: FOILING: I build this carbon part!

FOILING: I build this carbon part! 4 years 3 weeks ago #1

FOILING WITH A NON-FOILING FIN BOX
I am mounting my foil on a non-reinforced fin box and I'm a little worry that the forces on the foil will make the screws go right through the relatively thin layer of glass of the board's deck (about only 3mm thick!). So I decided to build a small carbon layup part to distribute the load over a larger area and to provide a stronger surface on which the screws can push down. This is my first time laying up a carbon fiber and S-Glass sandwich.
This might be either unnecessary, overkill or just not helping at all but, I don't want to take a chance, especially because I just got a new 90cm mast that will likely put more leverage over the setup. With the PowerPlate underneath and this additional carbon reinforcement on the deck, let's hope I keep this board intact!
Here are a few pics of the build.
It looks like there's a chance for me to test this out on the water today. I'll post for first impression!

The finished product (Small racetrack black part below the fin screws)
CarbonFoilPart_01.jpg

CarbonFoilPart_02.jpg

With the PowerPlate underneath, this should be bullet-proof!
CarbonFoilPart_03.jpg

CarbonFoilPart_04.jpg

Next post will show a few pics of the build steps.

FOILING: I build this carbon part! 4 years 3 weeks ago #2

THE BUILD

First, a layer of polypropylene plastic film (Home Center stuff) stretched over the deck to offer easy-part release (no release agent needed)
Cut and ready Carbon and S-Glass pieces.
CarbonFoilPart_05.jpg