Sunday, April 28, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville)

ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville) 2 years 2 weeks ago #13

• KM
  • Storm Force
Hi Guillermo

I'm pretty new too, but since I got real gear last fall pretty much all my sailing has been colder. I used a 3/2 Oneil cheapo suit for October, but once the air temps started getting lower I got 2 suits, and both were great. My bottom limit for comfortable sailing helps though as I don't really like going out below 43 degree air if it's sunny, or 47 if it's cloudy.
I had an Ion Strike Amp 4/3 which was awesome, but started tearing at the seals after 4 uses, so got warrantied. Replaced with an RRD 5/3 Celsius which has been nice as well, easier to put on but lacks the fleece lining that made the Ion a bit nicer.
It was funny, as it colder, every windsurfer I talked to recommended gloves, and that was definitely the limiting factor on the one day I quit early on. Since then I got palmless mittens which are really nice to keep cold air off wet hands.

Isthmus sailboards is probably the closest place to try on a wetsuit. Jon Massmann has helped me out with buying my new gear and lots of little extras since.

ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville) 1 year 11 months ago #14

• Guille
  • Strong Breeze
Wohooo! I managed to use the harness and the harness lines for the first time !!!!
What a relief, I don't think I could have lasted much longer without them, been experiencing some lower back discomfort.
Did some very very basic jibes for the first time too. Very rewarding session. Was scared I was going to hurt my back again but what a difference.