Saturday, April 27, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville)

ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville) 2 years 9 months ago #1

• Max
Ready to get into this sport.. Unfortunately there is not a lot of forum/guides online. Also its not super popular in Illinois.. BTW I live in Libertyville. Northern chicago suburb.

A lot of people on reddit said beginner should take some lessons. The only one I can find is northwestern sailing club.. which is booked out weeks ago and I have been on their private lesson wait list for 1 month now.

There is no rentals near here.. I couldnt find it anywhere...

Where should I start?

Should I just fully commit 3000 dollars for a full set? Reddit /r/windsurf said I should buy used first.. I cant find anything decent on eBay or craigslist.. I dont want to buy a 30 year old grandpa board...

Any tips/advice would help!! thanks!!

ABSOLUTE Beginner. Where to start? (Libertyville) 2 years 9 months ago #2

What you DON'T want is to buy a board that you will quickly outgrow and then have no use for. I would recommend a wind-SUP (stand-up paddle board). You can buy these used from a couple manufacturers. I've been windsurfing shortboards exclusively for 30+ years, and got a wind-SUP two years ago to practice in light winds, and I love it! I have a Fanatic Allwave, which I can use to windsurf, SUP, or SUP-surf, and it works really really well. Because you live by lake Michigan, you will definitely get some surfing use out of a wind-SUP. It's super fun for those 2-5 ft waves that the lake gets all the time. You'll use it to learn to windsurf, and then you will use to SUP, surf, explore later on. You'll never want to sell it.