Saturday, April 27, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Michigan city wind surfing

Michigan city wind surfing 1 year 8 months ago #1

I’m a beginner/intermediate windsurfer. I have never been on Lake Michigan but because Cedar Lake is closed down and I want to give my visiting grandson some beginning WS instruction while he is in town, I'm looking at alternatives. Michigan City is only an hour plus away. While I’m considering a place to teach my grandson perhaps it’s time to broaden my own experience, hence the thought of other sites. Can some of you give me the the pros and cons of MC? Parking/unloading? Where to put in? Shallow areas for instructions? Good wind directions vs bad wind directions. Local authorities and no-no.s associated with staying out of trouble. Thx

Michigan city wind surfing 1 year 8 months ago #2

On this stretch of lake Michigan, cross-shore southwest (or northeast) winds tend to be the best as it is easy to get back in and the waves tend to be small. Winds from the north can also be good before the waves (and shore-break) gets too big. Winds from the south can be good once you get 1/4 to half a mile away from land, but you need to be quite confident in your ability to get back up wind.