Sunday, April 28, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Legality of windsurfing on local lakes

Legality of windsurfing on local lakes 2 years 9 months ago #1

• Max
So.. Ive been researching for a while now.. Can I windsurf ANYWHERE?

For example.. I live in Libertyville. There is a 120 acre lake Diamond lake 5 mins from my house. There is a boat launch ramp there, beach, and SUP/kayak rentals. I dont see why I cant windsurf there.. I am a super beginner so i will be going like 0.5 mph speed..

Also there is Bangs lake about 15 mins away in wauconda. its 350 acre lake.. There was somebody posting it in this forum. and they mentioned that they have windsurfed there before..

So here is the question... Can I windsurf anywhere?? of course as long as its public property not somebody's backyard.

What is the rule here? Thx!

Legality of windsurfing on local lakes 2 years 9 months ago #2

• Greg S
  • Strong Breeze
Local rules may vary for launching, but I believe that windsurf boards, paddle boards, kayaks, are exempt from Illinois Boat Registration requirements so you don't need to register with the state although I have heard from some kayakers that some local places want the kayaks registered. Separately, with respect to windsurfing on a lake you'll typically want to check the local launch rules.

For Diamond Lake, I found www.mundeleinparks.org/wp-content/upload...ns-book_combined.pdf