Thursday, March 28, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: Rend Lake VS Carlyle Lake

Rend Lake VS Carlyle Lake 7 years 3 weeks ago #1

• Chris
  • Hurricane Force
I have sailed Carlyle but not Rend Lake. Has anyone sailed Rend Lake? It is almost as big as Carlyle, thinking maybe Rend can offer some untapped fun. Doesn't seem that anyone from down south joins our forum. Are they trying to keep it a secret?

Rend Lake VS Carlyle Lake 7 years 2 weeks ago #2

Damn! The secret is out! I'm not an expert on Rend but have sailed it a half dozen times or so. Best way to describe it is "Carlyle-light". On average probably not as windy and certainly not as big on the windy days. However it is a nice place to sail. The big difference is the causeway that cuts the lake in half, knocking down swell size from any south or north winds. On a northerly you can sail on the south side of the causeway in relatively flat conditions, and vice versa on a south wind. Depending on lake levels most people launch near the harbor on the southeast side of the causeway. If you have a floater board, and the wind is right you can sail under the causeway to the other half of the lake. There's plenty of camping and the lake is fairly scenic. It's worth a trip to explore. Here are a couple of pics when it was blowing 40+

IMG_1778.jpg

IMG_1772.jpg

Rend Lake VS Carlyle Lake 7 years 2 weeks ago #3

• Chris
  • Hurricane Force
Thanks! I will have to check it out sometime. It will be hard to not go to Carlyle instead unless for some reason Rend would be windy but Carlyle wouldn't. Post if you are going to sail either lake and maybe I can make it down. Hope we get a good solid weekend down there this spring. Later!

Rend Lake VS Carlyle Lake 7 years 2 weeks ago #4

• Chris