Thursday, March 28, 2024

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Welcome, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: newbie here... a few Q's

newbie here... a few Q's 8 years 9 months ago #1

• andy
  • Fresh Breeze
has been lurking around and finally got a (used) board + rig.
I have been sailing in mid-80's on then "one-design" and has never picked a boom since :) now it is time :)

Diamond lake in Mundelein is the closest to me -> is windsurfing allowed there? I cannot find anything online that specifically prohibits it. I also think I saw a windsurfer in Busse Woods (sailing is permitted there, but not sure if it is allowed). Oth.erwise I will travel to Lake Andrea

will annoy the community with my questions a bit... hope I can return a favor to another newb when the time comes

thanks!

newbie here... a few Q's 8 years 9 months ago #2

Welcome, Andy! Never heard anybody talk about Diamond lake or Busse Woods. Somebody might know something. Another lake that looks interesting is the Tree Oaks Recreation Area near Crystal Lake for S-SW wind.

Besides Lake Andrea you might also want to check out Pistakee Lake ( See Launches page scroll menu > Pistakee Lake )

newbie here... a few Q's 8 years 8 months ago #3

Hi Andy, glad to hear another newb site stalker (like myself) came out of the woods! How much time did you put in back in the 80's? and what did you pick up for gear?Lake Andrea is also on my list as well as checking out Silver Lake. Maybe we can get together at one of the lakes in the future. Reid, this is the first I've heard of Pistakee Lake. Do you have any past input (or anyone else) on the lake?

newbie here... a few Q's 8 years 8 months ago #4

• andy
  • Fresh Breeze
i sailed as a teenager -> a couple of years, competed locally :)